Skip to content

You know when you’ve become a regular when…

April 18, 2013

I know, I know I’ve neglected this for a while. I guess I spent a few months coming to terms with things and riding the rollercoaster that is taking many strong medications and dealing with what they are doing to my mind and my body.

My life is now punctuated with regular hospital appointments and, sadly, blood tests (GOD I HATE BLOOD TESTS), my day begins with a breakfast of 11 tablets and ends with a cocktail of 7 (possibly 8 if I need the sleeping pills).  However, I am now accepting this as part of life and not allowing it to define my life.

I am absolutely rubbish at taking a nap/rest.  I know I should and I know I feel better when I do, but I have a busy mind and I find it difficult to switch off, I also have a zillion things I want to get done before Izzy gets home from school and the school day is actually pretty short.  So this is something I need to discipline myself to do.

I was at the RVI today and realised I was now a regular. The nurses who recognised me said hello and asked after my daughter, the doctor’s are on more familiar terms and I realised I’d followed the progress of the Opthalmology refurbishment too closely when I remarked on the colour of the gloss and oohed about the new chairs in the waiting room.

From → Uveitis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

